Dr Sachidananda Mohanty

Dr Sachidananda Mohanty

Professor Sachidananda Mohanty is the Vice Chancellor of the Central University of Orissa at Koraput, India. He was recently nominated as a member for India’s Commission on Education for UNESCO by the President of India. He is also a member of the Governing Board of the Auroville Foundation, administered by the Ministry of the Human Resources Development, (MHRD) Government of India.

Professor Mohanty is the former Head, Department of English, University of Hyderabad and former Academic Associate at the American Studies Research Center, Hyderabad. He is the recipient of several national and international awards including those from the British Council, the Salzburg, the Katha and the Fulbright. He has to his credit 29 books in English and Odia including Understanding Cultural Exchange, Vision Books 1997; Travel Writing and the Empire, Katha; Early Women’s writing in Orissa, 1898-1950: A Lost Tradition, Sage Publications, 2005; Gender and Cultural Identity in Colonial Orissa, Orient Longman 2008; Sri Aurobindo: A Contemporary Reader, Routledge India, 2008; Sarala Devi, Central Sahitya Akademi, 2011; Cosmopolitan Modernity in Early Twentieth Century India, Routledge, 2015 ; Periodical Press and Colonial Modernity: Odisha: 1866-1936, Oxford University Press,2015, and The Lost World of Sarala Devi, Oxford University Press , 2016.

Dr Mohanty’s essays and literary articles have appeared in some of the leading journals and forums in the country and elsewhere including India Today, The Hindu, The Indian Express, The New Quest, The Toronto South Asian Review, India International Centre Quarterly, The Indian Literature, The Book Review , Economic and Political Weekly, the South Asia Review and the Seminar Magazine.

He has lectured at a number of leading Universities in India and abroad including Cornell University, Pittsburgh University, the City University of New York, California State University, University of New Mexico at Taos, Loyola University at Chicago and Australia National University, Canberra.


Powered by Khore by Showthemes